top of page

Essay: You know my name but not my goals - How I plan to achieve my dreams and aspirations



And how many times have you been so deeply hurt by those wicked comments, knowing that there are people out there who are actually going to form the wrong opinion of you based on that?




essay you know my name but



My parents named me Nonhlanhla because they believed that it was luck that I made it to the world after the complications my mother faced during her pregnancy, during labour and after birth. They believed it was luck I managed to walk at the age of 5 when the doctors had lost hope and thrown the towel saying my spinal-cord was damaged. They believed I would never walk in my whole life but that was their belief, not mine.


You know my name, not my story. You've heard what I've done, but not what I've been through. You know nothing about my struggles and setbacks, or how I have persevered through some of the hardest things life has thrown at me. Without these tough times I could not have accomplished what I have in my life. Hardship is like the fire that forges the strongest steel, changing people from those who are soft to those who are hard enough to take on almost anything and come out on top. When you think about who I am and what I have accomplished always remember that it took blood, sweat, and tears for me to get where I am know. What I have gone through has made me who I am and the success that I am today.


To sit under oath and inform all of us, that yes I wanted it, yes I permitted it, and that you are the true victim attacked by Swedes for reasons unknown to you is appalling, is demented, is selfish, is damaging. It is enough to be suffering. It is another thing to have someone ruthlessly working to diminish the gravity of validity of this suffering.


When I see my younger sister hurting, when she is unable to keep up in school, when she is deprived of joy, when she is not sleeping, when she is crying so hard on the phone she is barely breathing, telling me over and over again she is sorry for leaving me alone that night, sorry sorry sorry, when she feels more guilt than you, then I do not forgive you. That night I had called her to try and find her, but you found me first. Your attorney's closing statement began, "[Her sister] said she was fine and who knows her better than her sister." You tried to use my own sister against me? Your points of attack were so weak, so low, it was almost embarrassing. You do not touch her.


The probation officer factored in that the defendant is youthful and has no prior convictions. In my opinion, he is old enough to know what he did was wrong. When you are eighteen in this country you can go to war. When you are nineteen, you are old enough to pay the consequences for attempting to rape someone. He is young, but he is old enough to know better.


Most importantly, thank you to the two men who saved me, who I have yet to meet. I sleep with two bicycles that I drew taped above my bed to remind myself there are heroes in this story. That we are looking out for one another. To have known all of these people, to have felt their protection and love, is something I will never forget.


Why did this stuffy-sounding phrase become the go-to form of address for unknown recipients? Well, back in the day (before Google, basically), it was a lot harder to find basic information about people you didn't know.


When you're communicating with someone you don't know, you should put some thought into how you address them. Even if you know their name, it's not like you're buddies - yet. So you probably wouldn't start a letter with "Hey babe, what's up?"


So what do you say? Well, you can usually count on "Dear [name]" (or any of the other options below if you don't know their name) - it's formal but not stuffy, and it's a pretty widely-accepted way of starting a written communication (at least in the States).


You might want to address them as Ms. X or Mr. Y. Just make sure you know how that person identifies so you can use the proper title. If you're not sure, you can try to find out more information (see methods below) or choose some other form of address.


For women/femmes, be aware of whether you use Miss, Mrs, or Ms. The safest bet is to use "Ms.", as it doesn't imply a married or single status. If you know that the person prefers one over the others (you see "Please contact Miss Jennifer Morgan for more information" or something similar), use that.


Sure it sounds ambitious (and maybe a tad presumptuous?) but it does show that you know how to do your research. And that you care about the job, the company, and putting your most knowledgeable foot forward.


If you're not sure who would be your boss if you got the job, but you still want to use someone's name, zoom out a bit. You can likely figure out who's the head of whatever department you'd join if you got the position.


If you know the name of the recruiter who'll be reviewing your application, you can certainly address your cover letter to them. It might take a little effort to figure that out, but it does make your cover letter/application stand out.


Sometimes those names really are elusive. But it's a pretty good guess to assume that a recruitment or hiring manager will be involved in the process. So addressing your letter to the position might get their attention.


If you find the name of someone on the hiring committee or in the department to which you're applying, that's great. But what if you're not familiar with the origins of that name, and how people are addressed in that part of the world?


In this case, it can be a good idea to use the person's full name. In some places, like Hungary, Taiwan, or Japan, for example, people list their last names first. So by using their full name, you're not presuming to call them by only their first (or last) name.


The Department of Justice prosecutes cases of identity theft and fraud under a variety of federal statutes. In the fall of 1998, for example, Congress passed the Identity Theft and Assumption Deterrence Act. This legislation created a new offense of identity theft, which prohibits "knowingly transfer[ring] or us[ing], without lawful authority, a means of identification of another person with the intent to commit, or to aid or abet, any unlawful activity that constitutes a violation of Federal law, or that constitutes a felony under any applicable State or local law." 18 U.S.C. 1028(a)(7). This offense, in most circumstances, carries a maximum term of 15 years' imprisonment, a fine, and criminal forfeiture of any personal property used or intended to be used to commit the offense.


In a private tennis club with an online court booking system available ONLY to members, would it transgress GDPR to show the names (and no other information) of those booked to play at a given time? After all, you would only have to be there at the given time to see who is on court and with whom.


GDPR does not cover the processing of personal data which concerns legal persons (such as limited companies), including the name and the form of the legal person and the contact details of the legal person. Therefore, there is no requirement in the Regulation to redact the data about legal persons.


Dear Sophie,Does GDPR cover an email address such as: name.surname@company.com or name.surname@gmail.com or contact@namesurname.com, if they were given, as a contact email address, by the administrator of a company, at the moment of signing a contract (and mentioned in the contract) between that company and a service provider? Does that service provider company have any obligations under GDPR in relation to that email address?


I run a fitness studio and I have my customers sign into a paper register when they arrive for class. At the end of the month my colleague takes a screen shot on her phone of the names from different classes that month and uses whatsapp to send me these so that i can work from home and cross reference against our booking system online (it is easier for her to do this as she is in the studio on the last working day of the month) As whatsapp is encrypted and it is just names..no other personal details..could you tell me if this acceptable under GDPR? The photos of the names are deleted on both phones once cross referenced. Thank you.


I wrote an email of complaint to the manager of a members only golf club (but the public can access it for social activities) and it was discussed and minuted in a directors meeting. The directors then named me fully in the minutes and posted it on the notice board so members and potentially the public could see it stating that I had complained. (I have a very unusual surname so could be fully identified) is this a breach of GDPR?


I have a mail merge document that generates receipts for my customers. It contains their name, address and the item that they purchased (plus cost) If my bank manager wanted to see that list as evidence that I have those sales is that permitted or not?


Personal data is any information that a living individual can be identified from. So from your question below, it is clear that both name and address are considered personal data. The receipt number or reference would also be considered personal data as it is a number that is unique to that customer.


My potential mortgage company has sent me the valuation report of another person (name address and address of the property they wish to buy), which in turn means mine has been sent to someone else.is this a GDPR breach. (The documents only contain name and address of residence and potential purchase address with a valuation of the property).


hi basically my employer has lost a policy document which has my name and signature on it and obviously the company that I work for. im concerned as to what someone could do with this information if it were to get into the wrong hands? is this a breach of data protection?


I work in a language school where students are expected to have 80% attendance of their classes. We keep a register of each class where students are named and their attendance is recorded.Students are constantly asking what their current attendance score is. This is often so they can game the system and ensure that they do not dip below 80%.Because of the numbers of students who ask, we have a policy that says that we do not give out this information. At the end of their studies, a certificate is produced that contains their final attendance score.Some people are now concerned that the attendance percentage is personal data and that therefre students have a right to demand it. Is this concern justified? 2ff7e9595c


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page